You may have osteoarthritis if you experience one or more of the following common signs and symptoms:

  • Sore joint after overuse or inactivity
  • Joint stiffness after resting or in the morning
  • Pain when moving your joint
  • Pain when doing everyday activities like climbing stairs, getting up from a chair, buttoning a shirt
  • Joint pain that prevents you from exercising
  • Grating or catching sensation when moving your joint
  • Pain that feels worse in the evening after a day’s activity
  • Deterioration of coordination or grip strength due to joint pain and stiffness
  • Weakened muscular strength near the affected joint

To help with your diagnosis and treatment, be sure to mention these signs and symptoms at each doctor’s appointment.

The Arthritis Society has great resources to help you better understand and ease your conditions. Visit www.arthritis.ca to learn more. Did you know arthritis affects over 6 million Canadians? Osteoarthritis is the most common type of arthritis, affecting more Canadians than all other types of arthritis combined. Osteoarthritis causes the breakdown, or degeneration, of the cartilage and fluid that cushion and lubricate the bones in your joints. Osteoarthritis can occur in any joint, but osteoarthritis of the knee, hip, hands, toes and spine are the most common.16

No, there are different classes of injectable therapies that may be used to treat osteoarthritis. For example, steroid injections (such as cortisone) may help relieve knee pain and swelling temporarily. On the other hand, hyaluronic acid injections like DUROLANE are designed to supplement the lost hyaluronic acid in the synovial fluid of a joint affected by osteoarthritis.

treatment options

Most patients report experiencing little pain or discomfort during the injection. Some doctors may apply a topical numbing agent to the skin prior to giving the DUROLANE injection, which may help to minimize any pain or discomfort.

No additional drug or surgery is involved in treatment with DUROLANE. Some physicians may use a topical numbing agent prior to injection. You can schedule DUROLANE treatments just as you would any other office visit.

The entire procedure is performed in the doctor’s office and takes approximately 10 to 15 minutes. DUROLANE is administered by a single injection into the affected joint. Your doctor may advise you to avoid strenuous physical activities for a few days after your injection.

DUROLANE treats osteoarthritis by temporarily replenishing the hyaluronic acid in the fluid in your joint space. Unlike oral painkillers or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) that affect all parts of your body, DUROLANE specifically targets the osteoarthritis pain in your affected joint.

About DUROLANE

If you have osteoarthritis pain and the pain is not controlled by lifestyle changes or simple analgesics, you could be a candidate for DUROLANE treatment. To find out if DUROLANE might be right for you, please consult your doctor.

Visit our Reimbursement Support page for assistance.

Hyaluronic acid is a molecule found naturally throughout the human body. It is an important component of the joint fluid, called synovial fluid. The synovial fluid enables joints to move easily and freely while also absorbing the shock in the joint that occurs during physical activity. In a healthy joint, the joint fluid helps to protect bones and other joint tissues from injury and disease. These actions are also referred to as viscoelastic properties of synovial fluid.

The hyaluronic acid in the synovial fluid in your joint is continuously broken down and replaced over time. During the gradual progression of osteoarthritis, hyaluronic acid breaks down. This has a negative effect on the protective properties of the synovial fluid, reducing its ability to provide the elasticity and viscosity needed for normal, pain-free joint movement.

A study of patients who had undergone knee replacement surgery published in 2015 found that prior treatment with hyaluronic acid injections postponed their need for knee replacement surgery. In this study, the more courses of hyaluronic acid treatment the patients had received, the longer the time was between their initial diagnosis of osteoarthritis and their knee replacement operation. Patients without hyaluronic acid treatment had their knee replacement surgery after an average of 9 months. Patients who received 5 or more courses of hyaluronic acid treatment delayed their knee replacement operation by an average of 3.6 years.9

A steroid injection is used to reduce inflammation and pain. It can start to relieve osteoarthritis pain faster than an injection of hyaluronic acid, but has been shown not to last as long. In a clinical study comparing a steroid injection with DUROLANE treatment for patients with knee osteoarthritis, both treatments provided a reduction in knee pain and stiffness, but the benefits of the DUROLANE injection lasted longer and could be repeated without showing a decline in effect. The study also showed that patients who initially received a steroid injection also responded well to follow-up treatment at 6 months with an injection of DUROLANE.2

It is possible that your physician will recommend the use of a steroid to reduce the inflammation in your joint and later recommend the use of DUROLANE.

DUROLANE has been proven to provide pain relief and restoration of joint function for up to 6 months, in a study on knee osteoarthritis.2

Yes. DUROLANE is clinically proven to be safe, even following repeated injections.2 More information about clinical studies of DUROLANE safety can be found in the summary of Indications for Use in the package insert.

Yes, if you have knee osteoarthritis in both knees you can be treated in both knees. You will require two 3 mL syringes containing DUROLANE, one syringe per knee. Treatment of the hip with also require a 3 mL syringe. If you have osteoarthritis in a smaller joint, like your ankle, finger, or toe, DUROLANE SJ is available as a 1 mL syringe containing DUROLANE, designed for small joints.

You should not use DUROLANE if you have infections or skin disease at the injection site. DUROLANE has not been tested in pregnant or lactating women, or children. Full information about the indications and contraindications for DUROLANE can be found in the package insert, or by contacting Customer Service at 1-855-771-0606, or email canada.durolane@bioventusglobal.com.

Vous pourriez avoir de l’arthrose si vous présentez au moins un des signes ou symptômes fréquents ci-dessous :

  • Sensibilité articulaire après un effort excessif ou une période d’inactivité
  • Raideur articulaire après le repos ou au réveil
  • Douleur en déplaçant l’articulation
  • Douleur en exécutant les activités quotidiennes comme monter les escaliers, se lever d’une chaise, boutonner une chemise
  • Douleur articulaire qui nuit à l’activité physique
  • Sensation de frottement ou de blocage en déplaçant l’articulation
  • Aggravation de la douleur à la fin d’une journée
  • Détérioration de coordination ou de la force de préhension causée par la douleur et la raideur dans les articulations
  • Baisse de la force musculaire autour de l’articulation atteinte

N’oubliez pas de mentionner à votre médecin les signes et symptômes que vous présentez afin de faciliter la pose du diagnostic et le traitement.

La Société de l’arthrite vous propose des ressources utiles pour vous aider à comprendre votre affection et à mieux composer avec elle. Visitez le site Web www.arthritis.ca pour en apprendre davantage. Saviez-vous que plus de 6 millions de Canadiens sont atteints d’arthrite? L’arthrose est la forme d’arthrite la plus répandue et touche davantage de Canadiens que toutes les autres formes combinées. Elle entraîne la dégradation, c’est-à-dire la dégénérescence, du cartilage et du liquide qui absorbe les chocs et lubrifie les os dans les articulations. L’arthrose peut apparaître dans n’importe quelle articulation, mais elle affecte le plus souvent les genoux, les hanches et les os des mains, des orteils et du dos.16

Non. Différentes classes de traitements injectables peuvent être utilisées contre l’arthrose. Par exemple, les injections de stéroïdes (comme la cortisone) peuvent aider à soulager temporairement la douleur et l’enflure. Les injections d’acide hyaluronique comme DUROLANE sont quant à elles conçues pour suppléer à la perte d’acide hyaluronique dans le liquide synovial d’une articulation affectée par l’arthrose.

Options thérapeutiques

La plupart des patients indiquent ressentir une légère douleur ou de l’inconfort durant l’injection. Certains médecins appliqueront un analgésique topique sur la peau avant d’administrer l’injection de DUROLANE, ce qui aide à atténuer la douleur et l’inconfort.

Aucun autre médicament et aucune opération chirurgicale n’est nécessaire pendant le traitement par DUROLANE. Certains médecins pourraient appliquer un analgésique topique avant de faire l’injection. Vous n’avez pas à prévoir plus de temps pour un traitement par DUROLANE que pour une visite ordinaire chez le médecin.

L’ensemble de l’intervention a lieu au cabinet de votre médecin et dure environ 10 à 15 minutes. DUROLANE est administré par injection unique dans l’articulation affectée. Votre médecin pourrait vous recommander d’éviter les activités physiques intenses durant les jours qui suivent votre injection.

DUROLANE traite l’arthrose en rétablissant temporairement l’acide hyaluronique dans le liquide de vos articulations. Contrairement aux analgésiques oraux et autres anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS) qui ont des effets dans tout votre organisme, DUROLANE cible la douleur causée par l’arthrose exactement dans l’articulation atteinte.

À propos de DUROLANE

Si vous n’arrivez pas à maîtriser la douleur causée par l’arthrose grâce aux modifications à votre style de vie ou aux analgésiques courants, DUROLANE pourrait vous convenir. Pour savoir si DUROLANE convient à votre situation, consultez votre médecin.

Visitez notre page d’aide au remboursement pour plus d’information.

L’acide hyaluronique est une molécule naturelle que l’on trouve dans tout le corps humain. C’est une composante importante du liquide articulaire (le liquide synovial). Le liquide synovial permet aux articulations de bouger facilement et librement, tout en absorbant les chocs liés à l’activité physique. Dans une articulation saine, il protège les os et autres tissus articulaires contre les blessures et les maladies; c’est ce qu’on appelle les « propriétés viscoélastiques » du liquide synovial.

L’acide hyaluronique du liquide synovial dans vos articulations est continuellement dégradé et remplacé. Au cours de la progression lente de l’arthrose, l’acide hyaluronique n’est pas remplacé aussi rapidement. Cela entraîne un effet négatif sur les propriétés protectrices du liquide synovial en réduisant sa capacité à fournir l’élasticité et la viscosité nécessaires pour assurer des mouvements normaux et sans douleur.

Une étude menée auprès de patients qui avaient subi une arthroplastie du genou (intervention chirurgicale pour le remplacement de l’articulation) et dont les résultats ont été publiés en 2015 a révélé qu’un traitement antérieur par l’acide hyaluronique avait permis de repousser la nécessité d’effectuer l’arthroplastie. Dans le cadre de cette étude, plus le patient avait reçu d’injections d’acide hyaluronique, plus le délai entre la pose du diagnostic d’arthrose et l’arthroplastie était long. Les patients qui n’avaient pas reçu d’injections d’acide hyaluronique avaient dû subir une arthroplastique après 9 mois en moyenne. Les patients qui avaient reçu au moins 5 injections d’acide hyaluronique ont réussi à repousser l’arthroplastie du genou de 3,6 ans en moyenne.9

Une injection de stéroïdes sert à atténuer l’inflammation et la douleur. Elle peut soulager la douleur causée par l’arthrose plus rapidement qu’une injection d’acide hyaluronique, mais ses effets ne durent pas aussi longtemps. Une étude clinique a comparé une injection de stéroïdes au traitement par DUROLANE chez les patients aux prises avec l’arthrose du genou. Elle a montré que les deux traitements procuraient un soulagement de la douleur et de la raideur au genou, mais les bienfaits de DUROLANE duraient plus longtemps et l’effet se maintenait même après des injections répétées. L’étude a aussi montré que les patients qui avaient d’abord reçu une injection de stéroïdes avaient bien répondu à un traitement par DUROLANE administré 6 mois plus tard.2

Votre médecin pourrait commencer en vous recommandant des stéroïdes pour réduire l’inflammation dans votre articulation et vous recommander DUROLANE par la suite.

Dans le cadre d’une étude sur l’arthrose du genou, DUROLANE a montré qu’il soulage la douleur et restaure le fonctionnement de l’articulation pendant une période pouvant atteindre 6 mois.2

Oui. Des études cliniques ont montré que DUROLANE est sûr, même après des injections répétées.2 Vous trouverez de plus amples informations au sujet des études cliniques qui se sont penchées sur DUROLANE dans le résumé des indications de la notice d’accompagnement du produit.

Oui. Si vous avez de l’arthrose dans les deux genoux, vous pouvez recevoir le traitement dans les deux genoux. Il faudra utiliser deux seringues contenant 3 mL de DUROLANE, soit une seringue par genou. On utilise également la seringue de 3 mL pour traiter l’arthrose de la hanche. Si vous avez de l’arthrose dans des petites articulations, par exemple celles de la cheville, des doigts ou des orteils, on utilise les seringues de 1 mL de DUROLANE SJ.

Ne pas utiliser DUROLANE si vous présentez une infection ou une affection cutanée au niveau du site d’injection. DUROLANE n’a pas été évalué chez la femme enceinte ou qui allaite ni chez l’enfant. Vous trouverez tous les renseignements au sujet des indications et des contre-indications de DUROLANE dans la notice d’accompagnement du produit, Vous pouvez également communiquer avec le service à la clientèle en téléphonant au 1 855 771-0606 ou en écrivant à canada.durolane@bioventusglobal.com.